Holiday Cookbook: Classic Chocolate Chess Pie

4 Dec

I’m a huge fan of anything chocolate, and this Thanksgiving was my first time making a classic Chocolate Chess Pie. It was gone instantly. So I thought I would share it with you, you know, so you can impress your family this Christmas!

Classic Chocolate Chess Pie

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 5 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup evaporated milk
  • 3 large eggs (room temperature)
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 partially 9-inch baked pie crust

What You’ll Do

  1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees
  2. Combine sugar, cocoa, flour, and salt.
  3. Blend in milk. Beat in eggs, one at a time.
  4. Add butter and vanilla, beat until smooth.
  5. Pour into a pre-baked shell (or make your own!) and
    Bake in 325 degrees for 55-60 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!
*Original recipe found here

6 Responses to “Holiday Cookbook: Classic Chocolate Chess Pie”

  1. Jess December 13, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Thank you! I am going to make this within a couple of days and I will let you know how it turns out.

  2. Jess December 15, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    I just realized I have Starbucks cocoa so that should turn out pretty good. I am making this today for my family. I am excited. Thanks again!

    • A Beautiful Nest December 15, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      yum! cant wait to hear how that starbucks cocoa tasted!

      xx, kara

      • Jess December 16, 2012 at 1:52 am #

        I thought it turned out pretty good. I served it room temperature and I think it would have tasted better cold. My inlaws both had two servings each though and my husband said I did a good job. Guess it was good. : ) Thanks!!!

  3. Jess December 16, 2012 at 1:53 am #

    It tasted like a brownie pretty much! It was yum!

Leave a Reply

