Creating.

22 Oct

I’ve talked about it a little here before, but it’s a dream of mine to open up my own furniture business and one day work from home full time creating beautiful pieces for the home. There’s something so relaxing about spending the day painting, and I really love the feeling I get when I’m able to turn something old and worn into something truly beautiful and unique.

Obviously, as many people who dream of having their own business soon find… it takes money to make money! So, after going several weekends without any projects at all, I decided that it was time to search for a piece and pick out some paints. My boyfriend had given me a few planter boxes when we moved in together last month, and I love how they look after a fresh coat of paint. These will hold my future indoor herb garden in a few months, and I really love how they turned out!

Before:

 

After:

You can’t tell in the picture, but the boxes go from white to light grey to darker grey. The contrast from the top two boxes aren’t as distinct as I wanted them to be… so I might end up painting the middle one a little darker. We’ll see.

The good news is I have a little extra paint, and I’m thinking about doing something like THIS just for fun this week!

I also found a really cool coffee table at the thrift store on Saturday. I’m going to sand it down today and tomorrow, and then I picked out a really pretty paint color for it and I want to experiment with adding some fabric to the surface for some added personality. This will be my first piece that I plan to sell, and I’m excited to see how that turns out! (I also hope I don’t fall in love with it and try to keep it for myself, haha!)

Creating is something that has always been very important to me, and it’s also something that has been seriously lacking in my life for the past few years. I always feel like the best version of myself whenever I’m doing something artistic, and so I’m really looking forward to creating things on a regular basis from now on!

P.S. – If you haven’t noticed, I am such a huge fan of the movie E.T. (really, who isn’t?) That’s why I was so excited to find Henry Thomas’ audition tape for the part of Elliot! Child actors always impress me, but this kid really is incredible!

Leave a Reply

