Workout Diaries: V.II

4 Oct

Img_67071_large

via

I have been following THIS 30 day training program for two weeks now, and it’s that time of the week where I share my progress! Feel free to post in the comments any work out tips you’ve been loving lately or progress you’ve made towards your health! Let’s get fit together!

Weightloss Goal & Pounds Lost To Date:

My goal is to lose 40 lbs by March. So far I am still only down 1 lb… which I’ll admit is really, really frustrating. I have seen improvements though – I can do the exercises faster and my form looks much better than it did my first week. Several exercises require me to lift my legs and then lower them, and at first I had to keep them bent but recently I have been able to keep them straight – which is noticeably a better workout.

I think a big part of the reason that I’m not seeing faster improvements is because, although the workouts are super intense, they still only last for a total of about 15 minutes. After I finish the 30 day shred (which is getting me in the habit of working out 5 days per week, and is improving my ability to do the workouts correctly), I am planning on adding an extra 30 minutes of cardio to each workout.

What’s Keeping Me Motivated:

This week has gone by pretty quickly, and working out hasn’t been such a chore. I’ve stayed motivated by thinking about small goals – I’m halfway done with my 30 day shred! Also, my legs are looking more toned and I’m feeling more comfortable in my body… definitely makes me want to keep up this routine!

Favorite Workout This Week:

I’m actually really having fun with the boxing exercises this week! On the Kinect, the trainer will shout out things like ‘upper cut!’ ‘hook!’ or ‘jab!’ and you have to be quick to follow along. Sometimes he adds in kicks and blocks. This has been a really fun way to get in my cardio…

The punching drill. In your fighting stance have a dumbbell on each hand. The dumbbell shouldn’t be heavy. You will begin to rapidly throw punches in a stationary position. There are different variations you can apply this drill in and speed is the key to this drill. This drill will teach you to have stamina in your punches, so you won’t tire out in the rounds. (more boxing exercises at home found HERE)

Least Favorite Workout This Week:

I’m still not really loving last weeks highlight, Crunch & Punch, but this week my hardest workout was definitely the push ups. I’ll admit, these are hard for me because my upper body strength is slim to none. I still can’t really get the hang of these… but I can definitely see improvements and I am pretty confident that I’ll be able to get these right by the end of my 30 day shred. At least I hope so! Anyway, here’s how it’s done:

  • Assume a prone position on the floor or other rigid surface (preferably carpeted-more on that later) that’s able to support your body weight. Keep your feet together!
  • Position hands palms-down on the floor, approximately shoulder width apart. Curl your toes upward (towards your head) so that the balls of your feet touch the ground.
  • Raise yourself using your arms.
  • Lower your torso to the ground until your elbows form a 90 degree angle.
  • Raise yourself by attempting to push the ground away from you.

Healthy Foods I’ve Tried:

This week I have been working on eating much healthier, and have been bringing carrots to work for a mid-morning snack, along with graham crackers and peanut butter. My job has a room right next to my office that has 4 vending machines: 1 full of sodas, 1 full of snacks, 1 full of sandwiches/lunch foods, and 1 full of ice cream…. so my main goal is to avoid those! So far so good this week!

Goals For The Upcoming Week:

My goals for next week include eating healthier – I want to start planning out my dinners, bringing my lunch every day to work, and cutting out unhealthy snacks (which are usually from being bored or tired).

*Workout Diaries is a weekly post that will track and monitor the progress that I am making using the UFC Personal Trainer for Kinect. Please feel free to follow along and post your success stories or struggles in the comments section!

 

Leave a Reply

