Workout Diaries: V. I

27 Sep

Img_67071_large

via

I have been following THIS 30 day training program for a week now, and thought it would be fun to track my progress. Feel free to post in the comments any work out tips you’ve been loving lately or progress you’ve made towards your health! Let’s get fit together!

Weightloss Goal & Pounds Lost To Date:

My goal is to lose 40 lbs by March. So far I am down 1 lb for my first week… it’s a start, right?! Even though I haven’t seen a huge drop in my weight though, my body looks tighter and because I’ve already gotten stronger and can do each exercise better, I’m burning more calories each time! Improvement!

What’s Keeping Me Motivated:

This week has been extremely busy and stressful with work, so keeping myself motivated has been difficult because I’ve been pretty tired/lazy when I get home. What’s been working? Cleaning out my closet and finding cute clothes that I used to fit in… I would looooove to wear some of the things I’ve saved from freshman year of college!

Favorite Workout This Week:

Although I dread the days that we focus on abs, my favorite workout so far is definitely the Reverse Crunches. HERE‘s how they work:

  • Lie on the floor and place hands on the floor or behind the head.
  • Bring the knees in towards the chest until they’re bent to 90 degrees, with feet together or crossed.
  • Contract the abs to curl the hips off the floor, reaching the legs up towards the ceiling.
  • Lower and repeat for 1-3 sets of 12-16 reps.
  • It’s a very small movement, so try to use your abs to lift your hips rather than swinging your legs and creating momentum.

Least Favorite Workout This Week:

As I mentioned above, ab workouts are not exactly my best friend at the moment. The only thing I hate more than crunches, are what’s called “Crunch & Punch“. When I hear my trainer mention these, I literally almost cry. But… they definitely work! Here’s what you do:

  • Lie on the floor and place hands behind the head.
  • Pull your body up (be careful not to pull with your neck muscles!) as if you were doing a typical crunch.
  • Twist your body, alternating to the left and right, and ‘Punch’.

Healthy Foods I’ve Tried:

Yeah, sooooooo I probably could’ve skipped the slice of pizza I ate this morning…. after finishing off a bagel. Carbs are my enemy right now and my goal for next week is to really cut down on those kinds of foods. Being prepared is key, so when I go to the grocery this weekend I plan on buying lots of fresh fruits and vegetables to snack on……. and leaving the pizza behind!

Goals For The Upcoming Week:

Weekly goals are good to have, because they are short-term and show progress – even though I haven’t reached my ultimate goal of 40 lbs. They’re basically key in staying motivated. My goals for this week include eating healthier (because if I’m going to spend time working my butt off –literally- why mess that up with bad foods?!) and getting better/more comfortable with my ab exercises. I’d also realllllllllly love to be able to do a push up… we’ll see!

*Workout Diaries is a weekly post that will track and monitor the progress that I am making using the UFC Personal Trainer for Kinect. Please feel free to follow along and post your success stories or struggles in the comments section!
Leave a Reply

