Very Easy Beer Bread!

22 Aug

I’ve always wanted to bake my own bread, but when I think about my mother and her bread machine… I’ve always shied away because honestly – who wants to spend hours upon hours on a single loaf?

Well, baking bread doesn’t have to take hours… and actually this recipe takes a total of 1 hour – including prep time! I made a loaf last night using my favorite Pumpkin Ale, and we’ve been eating it for every meal since.

What You’ll Need:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 4 Tablespoons sugar
  • One 12 oz. bottle or can of your favorite beer
  • 3 Tablespoons butter

What You’ll Do:

  • Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan
  • In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar
  • Add your 12 oz. beer and mix together for no longer than 1 minute (the dough will be very sticky… I used my hands)
  • Place the dough in your loaf pan and top with melted butter. Bake for 40 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the middle). Heavier beers may take a little longer…

Just mix, pour, and voila!

It’s really that simple! Check out THIS website for the original recipe, and be sure to check out the comments for some tastey ways to modify this very easy beer bread!

3 Responses to “Very Easy Beer Bread!”

  1. howtoonlinedate August 23, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    gotta try this with the one beer i have left in the fridge…thanks!

    • A Beautiful Nest August 23, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      i hope you enjoy it as much as i did! it’s amazzzzzing with melted cheese and garlic on top…. in case you were wondering 😉

  2. Mallory September 18, 2012 at 1:04 am #

    I am printing this recipe right now. I have tried beer bread at cooking parties before and it’s delicious. my dad just bought a pumpkin ale too that’s really good!!

Leave a Reply

