The Very Best Chicken Enchiladas You’ll Ever Eat!

16 Aug

via

Ok, so I really, really need to work on taking my own pictures. I can’t take credit for the enchiladas pictured above… but I can assure you that mine looked and tasted like something I would actually pay for at a restaurant! They were impressive! (and judging by my boyfriends plate, scraped clean of all evidence… I think he agrees!)

Anyway. One thing that I love to do is cook for the people who I love. Call me a 50’s housewife-wannabe, but I love our home smelling like yummy foods cooking in the oven when my boyfriend walks in the door after a long day of work. Actually, chances are pretty good that if you stroll into our apartment on any given day, something delicious will be in the oven.

*True story: I made a homemade apple pie from scratch the morning that we moved in, just so things would smell “homey” while we unpacked 😉

Anyway, onto the recipe that is an absolute must try! And bare with me please, because when I cook I don’t tend to measure things out and I add things here and there depending on my mood… luckily this worked out in my favor last night!

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 can of enchilada sauce (or you can make your own white sauce… my friend Sarah has a pretty B-A recipe of her own HERE!)
  • Soft taco shells
  • 1/2 lb chicken (I used 3 frozen chicken breasts)
  • 1 1/2 cups of Mexican Blend shredded cheese
  • 1 jar of your favorite salsa
  • Taco seasoning
  • Sour Creme

What You’ll Do:

  • Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees and lightly grease a glass pan (I used an 11 x 14 size and still had room)
  • Boil the chicken for about 10 minutes on high
  • With a fork, shred chicken into a skillet
  • Add: taco seasoning (to taste – I used 1/3 of the pack because I like it a little spicy!), 1/3 jar of enchilada sauce, 1/2 cup cheese and 1 cup salsa
  • Mix together on medium heat for about 3-4 minutes
  • Spoon the mixture into soft taco shells and place on pan, folded side down
  • Add the rest of the enchilada sauce and 1/2 cup cheese
  • Place in the oven for 15-20 minutes (until cheese is melted) and add sour creme, enjoy!

I paired these babies with rice and let me just give you this tip: If you add 1/3 cup packet of taco seasoning to 1 cup of rice while it’s boiling…. the rice tastes just like it’s from a Mexican restaurant!

I’m telling you, once these touch your lips you’re in trouble… I ate them last night and I already want to make them again! Happy baking!

4 Responses to “The Very Best Chicken Enchiladas You’ll Ever Eat!”

  1. trialsinfood August 16, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    you do sound like a 50′s housewife in training. 😉 homemade apple pie on moving day? impressive!

  2. Lisabusybee August 18, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Gurrrrllll. I wish we were neighbors. I love to cook & bake. I recently made Chicken Enchiladas from scratch & let me tell you… I didn’t even believe that I made them. I paired it with a outta this world cilantro lime rice that I made up as I went. Yummmmm. Did a banana pudding & cinnamon crisps for dessert. ::tummy grumbles:: So glad I checked your old blog, I shall check this daily now!!!!! :] Lisa

Leave a Reply

