Warming Up To White Walls

15 Aug

First and foremost, welcome to my new little space on the internet! For those of you who followed me here from my old blog, thank you 🙂

My hope is that things will go a little differently here. I wanted a fresh start, where I could post more about my home and easy ways to make where you live extra cozy.

First up – the obvious problem of cold, white walls. This works great for an apartment or rental that you cannot paint, and also those who just happen to love simplicity!

Warming up to white walls …

1. Add a pretty banner!

Imagevia

Banners are in right now… and they are a simple way to draw attention to an empty space, a lonely window, or any spot that you particularly fancy. You can purchase banners almost anywhere these days (I have this one from Target hanging in my kitchen!)… but why not create your own!

2. Create artwork and use a colored frame!

Image

via

There are so many options when it comes to spicing up picture frames. My favorite is choosing an old, dull frame and using bright spray paint to bring it back to life! Once you have the frame ready, the options for what can go inside of it are endless!

You can display polaroids (see above), fun things such as leaves or sticks that you find outside, string or yarn, or something else that you create entirely. I’m loving this pretty map art tutorial!

3. Accentuate with rugs, bold furniture, or bright vases!

Image

via

If done right, white walls can make a room look clean, fresh, and simple. Try keeping them bare and instead, add pops of color throughout your home to keep things interesting.

So tell me, what’s worked for you? How have you kept your own nest feeling comfy cozy with white walls? I’d love to hear your ideas!

2 Responses to “Warming Up To White Walls”

  1. Sarah August 15, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    Love love love!!! I’m so happy for you and your new little blog 🙂 I want a house with those gorgeous stairs. So pretty!!

  2. Kim August 16, 2012 at 2:12 am #

    Hooray new blog : ) My walls are pretty bare because I hate my house, but I’m actually looking forward to getting an apartment with bare white walls.

Leave a Reply

